Sojourns

Reflections on a year in 365 photographs

Project 365:ONE-HUNDRED-FORTY-SIX

with 3 comments

A new message on the Folly Boat tonight.

In Memory

I haven’t been writing entries with my photographs in the last few days but tonight’s image is special.  I had planned on dropping by on Folly Road to get a quick shot of the “Folly Boat” for my project.  The Folly Boat washed ashore during hurricane Hugo two decades ago and has since become a permanent part of Charleston’s charm.  In an unspoken honor system families and groups will repaint the side of the boat with their own messages, sometimes in honor of graduations or other achievements, sometimes in honor of special events, and other times, as here in this image, in memorial to a loved one.

As I pulled alongside the boat tonight, the family of Mrs. Pat Pierce was finishing their memorial to her passing today.  They had honored their father’s passing in the same way, with the same colors.  I was honored they allowed me to photograph their family event.  I was touched by the way they were able to celebrate their mother’s life well lived even in the midst of the sadness of her passing.  It reminded me once again that the most important legacy we leave are the lives we touched.  The love this family showed and the honks of support and sympathy from passing cars left no doubt that Mrs. Pierce was a special lady.  I am humbled.

Share this photograph!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Written by Brian Fancher

May 26, 2010 at 9:47 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yes she was a special,wonderful, honest, loyal person/mother. Although she is gone she will Never be forgotten.
    Love your baby girl
    Kim

    Kim Pierce Corbett

    May 31, 2010 at 4:15 pm

  2. My mother was a very special person to many. She was incredibly generous to all her 9 children and many grands and great grands. I will miss her every single day for the rest of my life.
    I am certain I will see her again in Heaven.
    Thanks for posting the gorgeous photo and the kind words. It was our pleasure to share this special time with you.
    Sincerely,
    Karen Hames

    karen pierce hames

    May 31, 2010 at 6:22 pm

  3. Thank you all, again! If someone sends me an email at my address that I gave you, I can send a link to a private flikr set with more photos of the painting in progress, if you’d like to see those.

    Brian

    Brian Fancher

    June 1, 2010 at 10:18 pm


Leave a Reply

