Sojourns

Reflections on a year in 365 photographs

Project 365:ONE-HUNDRED-THIRTY-SEVEN

leave a comment »

The calm moments before a run, contemplating the task ahead.

Quietude

Considering the image:  I missed my run today.  Sometimes life overtakes even the most disciplined of us.  However, I was able to take a few moments and consider the reasons I love the sport.  One of those reasons is the calm  I experience just before a run, focused on the task ahead.  I see my body respond to the impulses, quickening my pace and feel the exertion.  It does not matter if the run is an easy few miles of recovery pace or a PR marathon.  I love the moments before the first step, when all is possible and you stand there, connected to the road beneath you, energized and serene.  I wanted to capture something of that moment in today’s image.

Making the photograph:  This is a simple, available light shot.  I placed another pair of shoes in the road that I could set focus with on the 40D and EF 80-200mm f/2.8L lens.  I set the camera to aperture priority with f/2.8 to get a minimum depth of field because I wanted the shot background to extend to blurred nothingness.  I set the 10 second self timer, clicked the shutter button, and then ran to stand where the other shoes were.  Click.  Easy day.  I only used four exposures to get the composition I wanted.  Post processing used a High Pass Contrast layer, black and white layer with a mask to let the yellow through, and sharpening.  Easy day as far as the technical side goes.

Share this post!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Written by Brian Fancher

May 17, 2010 at 7:28 pm

Leave a Reply

