Sojourns

Reflections on a year in 365 photographs

Project 365:ONE-HUNDRED-THIRTY-FIVE

leave a comment »

Sunset on day two of a family camping trip

Relaxation

Considering the image:  One of the joys of camping trips is having the time to relax and take in the sunset at a leisurely pace.  I caught this image just after finishing a great cookout and watching my boys catch a bunch of bluegill fish.  I just stood there watching the sky ripple with the colors and clouds.

Making the photograph:  I added a twist to this and decided I wanted to see the reeds and cattails as well as the sky and reflections in the water behind them.  I was away from the camera bag though, so I quickly hit the pop-up flash on my Canon 40D, twisted the dial to manual mode and dialed down the exposure value while raising the flash exposure value.  I think I ended up at -2EV for the overall exposure while hitting +2EV for the flash exposure.   I’m sure the flash exposure required so much compensation due to the relatively weak built-in flash.  Had I been using the 580EX, I’d have likely needed a straight 0EV flash exposure value or even less.

Share this post!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Written by Brian Fancher

May 17, 2010 at 6:03 pm

Leave a Reply

