Sojourns

Reflections on a year in 365 photographs

Project 365:ONE-HUNDRED-THIRTY-TWO

leave a comment »

An afternoon fishing along the Battery sea wall here in Charleston, SC.

Grace

Considering the image:  I did a late afternoon run on my favorite run route along Murray Boulevard on the Battery here in Charleston, SC.  As I was running I noticed this couple out fishing and just generally enjoying each other’s company and the beautiful day.  After returning to the Wellness Center and showering, I returned to the the spot to see if I could get a photo or two of the many people fishing along the harbour sea wall.  Lucky for me, these folks were still out fishing.  She was humming and clapping along to a church hymn that I can’t recall the name of.  I loved the hats.

Making the photograph:  I wanted to isolate the couple as much as possible so I used the EF 80-200mm f/2.8L at 200mm and stood back just enough to get a decent frame with enough room to adjust the crop to 8×10 in post processing.  As usual with street and scene photography, I set the camera to aperture priority (A), and used f/5.6 in order to provide a little separation from the harbour and distant shoreline, yet leave enough focus that the water is recognizable.  Post processing was simply conversion to black and white, some contrast, sharpening and a tritone.  I added a bit of vignette to further place the attention on the couple.

Share this post!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Written by Brian Fancher

May 12, 2010 at 6:18 pm

Leave a Reply

