Sojourns

Reflections on a year in 365 photographs

Project 365:ONE-HUNDRED-TWENTY-NINE

leave a comment »

My sons helping the lifeguards at the beach

Lifeguards

Considering the image: We spent the afternoon at the beach at Isle of Palms, SC for Mother’s Day.  I took the opportunity to do some beach photography using Canon’s iTTL system.  I took quite a few of the usual types of shots, but when the lifeguards offered to let the boys get some photographs with their buoys, I knew that would make the image for the day.

Making the photograph: For the beach shooting I wanted to keep things simple and just focus on getting the shots.  In order to do that I swapped over to my old EF 28-105mm f/3.5-4.5 II just in case the camera took a drink or fell in a sand pit.  I added the 430EX to the top and put it in iTTL and high speed sync.  I set the camera on Aperture priority and shot at the widest possible aperture.  I dialed in -1EV to saturate the colors in the scene a bit and then added the fill flash at -1 to -1/3 EV.  Using the iTTL, the shots were easy and I could simply dial up/down on either the flash or the exposure to balance the scene.  I would have liked to have had a diffuser dome on the flash to soften it just a bit, but most of the shots were far enough that the dome wouldn’t have made much difference.

Share this post!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Written by Brian Fancher

May 9, 2010 at 3:38 pm

Leave a Reply

