Sojourns

Reflections on a year in 365 photographs

Project 365:ONE-HUNDRED-TWENTY-EIGHT

with 3 comments

A coconut mother's day cake by my wife, Michele

Mother's Day

Considering the image:  My wife has begun a cake business in earnest and had a couple of mother’s day cakes due this week.  This one was a coconut cream cake in the shape of a spring hat.  Once again, my softbox bedroom came in handy.

Making the photograph:  I used the same equipment as I had the last couple of days with the nice soft light of my bedroom accented with a white fill board to camera left.  I mounted the camera on a tripod since I was shooting f/8 in order to get a decent depth of field.  The lens was the same “Nifty Fifty” EF 50mm f/1.8 Mk I, which is really a lovely, sharp lens and works well in these situations on the Canon 40D.  Post processing added a bit of curves and contrast before cropping and saving for the web.

Share this post!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Written by Brian Fancher

May 8, 2010 at 3:20 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very nice hat, sorry cake.

    Geoff

    May 8, 2010 at 3:41 pm

  2. Great points! I will be checking back here often!

    Cindy

    May 8, 2010 at 9:36 pm

  3. Cute cake. It looks like something my mom would commission and expect. I hope the customer enjoyed it.

    BabetteKD

    May 9, 2010 at 4:07 pm


Leave a Reply

