Sojourns

Reflections on a year in 365 photographs

365:ONE-HUNDRED-FIVE

leave a comment »

A night match at the Family Circle Cup women's tennis tournament at Daniel Island

Power and Grace

A friend of mine gave me a pair of tickets to the Family Circle Cup women’s tennis tournament tonight so I grabbed my 40D and the EF 80-200mm f/2.8L and headed over to center court just a few miles from my house.  Sports are not really my interest when it comes to photography, but I couldn’t pass up the chance to practice some high-speed action photography.   The f/2.8 lens gave me a decent amount of light to play with, but I still bumped up the ISO on the 40D to 1000 in order to get shutter speeds into the 400-640 range.  The 40D is decent with higher ISOs, but noise reduction in post was required.  I also found that the 40D is a bit slow when shooting high-speed bursts to try and capture shots like this where you have the player and the ball in the frame.  For any given hit I managed only one frame that included the ball.  With a higher speed camera like the newer 7D or the 1Ds I would likely have gotten more potential keepers.  Tonight’s score was 2-for-88.  That wouldn’t put a lot of food on the table if shooting tennis were my job!  But it was fun to play at it!

Share this post!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Written by Brian Fancher

April 15, 2010 at 9:55 pm

Leave a Reply

