Sojourns

Reflections on a year in 365 photographs

365:ONE-HUNDRED-FOUR

leave a comment »

Azaleas in bloom in Charleston, SC.

Azalea Blossom

The azaleas are in full bloom here in Charleston.  I always have a hard time shooting these flowers because I think they look best when viewed in their rows and formations in the landscapes rather than as here in a single blossom.  But I have yet to find a pleasing composition with more than one flower in the frame.  This was one of the less common white species among all the pinks, magentas and reds.  I knew that if I could isolate a single bloom that I could get an image like this.

In post process I punched up the microcontrast a bit with a high pass filter layer.  Then a standard linear contrast curve layer and a bit of brightness/contrast in a layer.  For the black and white conversion I chose the CS3 preset of “maximum black”.  Three sharpening passes included a high-pass filter sharpen and unsharp mask before cropping and toning.  After sizing, the third sharpening pass was for web presentation.

I like this image and I’ll definitely be printing it for my own house, if not for sale.

Share this post!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Written by Brian Fancher

April 14, 2010 at 6:48 pm

Leave a Reply

