Sojourns

Reflections on a year in 365 photographs

365:ONE-HUNDRED-TWO

leave a comment »

Another self portrait.

Weight

I hadn’t done a self-portrait in a while.  I’ve seen a few others lately that I liked and I thought I’d try something like them.  This is a single 580 EX II strobe zoomed to 105mm and a 1.5 inch DIY straw grid to narrow the beam down significantly.  I used a white fill board on my left to just barely fill that side of my face and give a hint of definition.  In post processing I applied a high pass contrast to play up the skin textures and deepen the lines.  I’m a guy so I suppose that’s ok.  Then just convert to black and white with a green filter in Photoshop, size, tone and save.  Not bad for 20 minutes’ work.

Share this post!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Written by Brian Fancher

April 12, 2010 at 7:52 pm

Leave a Reply

