Sojourns

Reflections on a year in 365 photographs

365:ONE-HUNDRED-ONE

leave a comment »

A C-124 Globemaster on static display at the Charleston Air Force Base.

Globemaster

 

Early in this project I posted a picture of trains and recounted my grandfather’s love of all things locomotive.  On my father’s side of the family, I learned a great love of flight.  I grew up near an Air Force Base, going to air shows and flying in small planes.  Along the way I met aviation legends like Greg “Pappy” Boyington.  I knew the names and silhouettes of every plane flown in World War II.  I followed the development of the great jet fighters like the F-4, F-15, F-14, and F-16. 

In my adult life I spent several years stationed on or near Marine Corps Air Bases around the world, watching or flying in all of the latest military aircraft.  But it is the older aircraft of the 1930’s-1960’s which continue to hold my imagination.  I suppose this is because having peers as pilots in the current fleet de-mystifies the whole experience.  I see all the hard work, planning, and warts that is what real aviation is all about.  But I can continue to see these old aircraft and imagine the old aviators through the eyes of my inner child who grew up thrilling to “Baa Baa Black Sheep” and “Tora, Tora, Tora!”. 

Today I still enjoy seeing these old planes, visiting with my two youngest boys and explaining all about the mysteries of flight. 

Share this post! 

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Written by Brian Fancher

April 11, 2010 at 4:55 pm

Leave a Reply

