Sojourns

Reflections on a year in 365 photographs

365:NINETY-SIX

with 4 comments

Another image from Saturday's shoot with Peter and his Gibson

At the End of the Night

This is another image from Saturday’s shoot with Peter and his Gibson.  He played an awesome set of songs while I played around with a couple of speedlights, some blue gels, and my new EF 80-200 mm f/2.8 L lens.  I wanted to capture a bit of onstage magic in my humble bedroom studio.  I’m really happy with several of these shots.  I liked this one the best.  I think it distills the moment down to the intimacy of the musician and his instrument.

Share this post!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Written by Brian Fancher

April 6, 2010 at 6:14 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like it! Although I think you mean 70-200 f2.8 L??

    nbukrey

    April 6, 2010 at 9:24 pm

  2. Actually I do mean 80-200….this is the 1990’s model before the 70-200. I lucked into a pristine copy of this lens through ebay for a fraction of the cost of a new 70-200. The 80-200 is affectionately known as the “Magic Drainpipe”, and many consider it the better lens despite the lack of USM. I can tell you the optics are first rate. This is my second copy of this lens after having sold one several years ago. When I started this project I quickly found myself wishing I had it for some of the things I wanted to do. I don’t expect I’ll ever sell this one.

    Brian Fancher

    April 7, 2010 at 5:41 am

  3. Huh, didn’t even know they made one… cool!

    nbukrey

    April 7, 2010 at 7:47 am

    • If you’re a Canon guy and you don’t already own some 70-200 version, check eBay or KEH for the 80-200. You can pick them up often for $350-700. As long as the glass is good, they are an awesome lens. My previous copy was a former photojournalist’s and it looked like hell on the outside, but the glass was spotless. There is a look to the images that you just don’t see much…unless you have a lot of L lenses in your inventory…and even then, it surpasses many of those.

      The only caveat is that they are unsupported by official Canon service centers now. There are still some repair centers who can fix and/or clean them if needed, and for less than the old Canon service used to cost. However, the most I usually see these lenses needing these days is replacement of the manual/auto switch which can break if subjected to heavy impact. You see the switches listed on eBay a lot, though…so the parts are still out there.

      As I noted, I got super lucky with this new copy…I don’t think it has more than 100 shutter clicks through it in its entire lifespan. I got all of the original packaging, cards, etc! It must have been sitting in the bottom of a closet for many years!

      Brian Fancher

      April 7, 2010 at 9:47 am


Leave a Reply

