Sojourns

Reflections on a year in 365 photographs

365:NINETY-ONE

leave a comment »

Last year's cattail stands strong against the onslaught of spring.

Resistance

We had taken a walk past this pond with last year’s cattails still standing earlier in the day and I got some decent shots with my cool new/old Canon  80-200mm f/2.8 L lens.  With that lens, the rows of cattails could be compressed into a decent frame.  But I just wasn’t satisfied that the photographs would be what I wanted to show for today.

So I awoke from a nap today with this image in my mind.  I quickly changed out lenses back to my little nifty-fifty 50mm f/1.8 and headed back down the road to the little pond.  I shot with the cattail directly backlit by the late-afternoon sun.  Still, I wasn’t satisfied that I had what I wanted to produce this image.  The cattail was totally dark silhouetted against the sky with no detail except in the wispy remnants.  So I grabbed the 580EX II flash, put it on the hotshoe, dialed up ETTL and high-speed sync so that I could keep the 1/8000 shutter speed, and fired away with about -2EV exposure compensation and +1EV flash compensation.  Perfect exposure for what had in mind.

In post processing, I used black and white (neutral density filter), curves, and brightness/contrast adjustment layers in Photoshop.  I used high-pass filter and unsharp mask sharpening on the master image before cropping to 8×10 format.  Once cropped I changed to grayscale 8-bit mode so that I could apply a tritone to the image.  The image I had in mind had blue and gold in the tritone so that is what you see here.  After toning I sized for the web and saved.

So here is my photograph of last year’s cattail standing tall against the onslaught of spring here in the lowcountry.

Share this post!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Written by Brian Fancher

April 1, 2010 at 3:47 pm

Leave a Reply

