Sojourns

Reflections on a year in 365 photographs

365:EIGHTY-FOUR

with 2 comments

An old Ford makes a perfect auto shop vehicle

Fix Or Repair Daily

I had seen an old MG for sale and parked along North Meeting Street earlier in the day here in Charleston.  I had a meeting that I was running late for at work or I would have stopped right then to take some shots for the day.  So after work I headed back down the road to grab a quick set of bracketed exposures of the MG, but by then it was gone.  However, just a bit further down the road I saw this old Ford pickup parked outside of an auto body and alignment shop and knew it would work perfectly for what I had in mind.  I pulled into the parking lot, tossed my camera on the tripod, and snapped off six frames, while entertaining the owner and his dog.

The first part of getting this image was changing out to my trusty 24mm f2.8 lens and setting it low and close to the truck.  The rest of the look of the image comes from some heavy processing, starting with HDR with Photomatix Pro.  I had originally processed the image completely in color to get an over-the-top look.  You can find that one in my Flikr photostream.  When I converted to black and white with a high contrast red filter, I started to get an image I was looking for.  I finished the processing with one of Photoshop’s supplied Pantone Quadtones which really brought out the drama.

I haven’t really worked out whether I’m fond of so much processing in images yet.  I find a lot of satisfaction in creating an image mostly in the camera, with just a few curves and the required sharpening to make the shot presentable.  That philosophy puts a premium on photographic technique, which should be the starting point for anyone interested in photography.   But there is also a part of my creative thought pattern that loves to tinker and use all the tools available to make something even more unique.  The straight, properly exposed frame of this particular shot pales in comparison with what you see here.  Frankly, anyone with a decent camera could make pretty much the same image.  But this one that you see here….it is mine.

Let me know your thoughts on this…

Share this post!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Written by Brian Fancher

March 25, 2010 at 7:20 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It would make a great doom and gloom movie poster. The over saturated version on flickr is also quite cool. All in all a great photo.

    You should photograph my car one day and see what you can do with it.

    Chris Barker

    March 25, 2010 at 9:36 pm

    • I’d love to do one of these of your Mustang if you’re interested. There are some good locations close to 198 that would make good backgrounds.

      Brian Fancher

      March 26, 2010 at 10:53 am


Leave a Reply

