Sojourns

Reflections on a year in 365 photographs

365:EIGHTY-ONE

with one comment

A confederate memorial in a Charleston cemetery.

Sons of the Confederacy

A large local cemetery overlooks the Cooper River near downtown Charleston.  I had originally planned an image with an interesting headstone looking out over the river.  But as I wandered the area I came across this large field of confederate soldiers’ graves guarded by this memorial to the sons of the confederacy.  I guess I should have known this existed, but I didn’t….until now.

I have always had a love/hate relationship with the Civil War, or for my southern friends, the War of Northern Aggression.  Some find it ironic that as an Illinois native I might choose Charleston, the home of Fort Sumter, to settle down after my own military life.  Growing up I was indoctrinated in the Land of Lincoln and the emancipation proclamation.  Later in college here at the Citadel I studied the War of Northern Aggression under a would-be southern blue blood professor.  During a long military career I studied the strategy, generalship, tactics, and politics surrounding the bloody, divisive conflict.  And yet after all that, I’m left simply mourning the tremendous loss of life on both sides for the sake of greater democratic principles.  Looking at this memorial today I’m reminded that even now we’ve never really given up “fighting” for freedoms, as if we’ve forgotten the human cost.

And so I’m inclined to strive for “the middle way”.

Written by Brian Fancher

March 22, 2010 at 8:52 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I would have to concur with your analysis on the war. For the subject at hand, the flag is very eye catching. Somewhat surreal given the location of the shoot.

    Chris Barker

    March 22, 2010 at 10:50 pm


Leave a Reply

