Sojourns

Reflections on a year in 365 photographs

365:FIFTY-FIVE

leave a comment »

An after-lunch walk by Colonial Lake in Charleston

The Walk

Today will be a two-for-one entry.  I couldn’t decide which photo I preferred for my daily photo entry.  I suppose if I’d been about two feet taller taking the woman’s photograph walking by Colonial Lake in Downtown Charleston, my choice would have been easy.  While I liked the photograph since it captured her introspective walk, the bright line of the wave line in the water bisects her head to a distracting degree.  The white industrial trucks of a cinema production company ringed the lake as well, preventing a more serene composition.  I converted to black and white and then applied a tritone to the final image before saving for the web.

An abandoned industrial building on the old Naval Base in Charleston

Silenced

I knew that I had “iffy” compositions and/or subjects for my Colonial Lake street photos, so I went back to an area I’m pulling a lot of subjects from on the old Naval Base in Charleston.  This is an abandoned industrial building near the piers and the waterfront park.  I was drawn to the vertical composition of the stacks against what I knew would be an empty sky.  I also knew it would work well in black and white, as you see here.  This image has a simple black and brown duotone applied before saving for the web.  I think this composition has more unity and harmony than the street scene.  But I’m less enamored of the subject itself.  Although I’ve done a lot of landscape so far, I prefer the human element.

Click below to share this post!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Written by Brian Fancher

February 24, 2010 at 7:19 pm

Leave a Reply

