Sojourns

Reflections on a year in 365 photographs

365:FIFTY

with one comment

A backyard image of marsh grasses.

Marsh Grasses

This marsh grass image came from my back yard.  I am working on images for a photo critique/contest where the subjects must come from the photographer’s back yard.  At this time of year, the project presents some challenges since there are no flowering plants, and much of the vegetation is dead or dormant.

As I contemplated the project, and walked my back yard, I knew I would have to focus on a simple, graphic composition due to the lack of strong subjects.  I saw this grass in the warm late afternoon sun, with a dark green background some feet away.  I knew I could isolate the grasses with shallow depth of field and that would become a strong graphic.  Because there is some strong color in the image, I decided that a diagonal composition would work and further the dynamic impression.

Had the light been softer, I might have composed straight up and down with the grasses and desaturated the image a bit.  That would have been a more serene type of image.

All from the same subject!

Click below to share this post!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Written by Brian Fancher

February 19, 2010 at 8:28 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Love this one. I love the gold of the grass and those little points of blue bokeh.

    Geneil

    February 22, 2010 at 3:24 pm


Leave a Reply

