Sojourns

Reflections on a year in 365 photographs

365:FORTY-NINE

leave a comment »

A railroad trestle seen from North Rhett in North Charleston, SC.

Nowhere

This railroad trestle is near Yeamans Hall Road and North Rhett in North Charleston. I saw this from the road to the left of the train tracks today and had this image in my mind.  The only thing missing is a train coming head on!  I waited some time for a train to appear, but had other appointments to make.  One day I’ll come out when I know the trains schedules and try to meet one.

The last two days I’ve been working on some new post-processing techniques.  They are doing wonders for bringing the images back to what I experienced through the viewfinder.  I am particularly enthusiastic about finally understanding sharpening and how the various techniques work.  You can read for yourself here at Ron Bigelow’s website.  There is a wealth of information there for how to analyze and optimize what comes out of your camera.  Taking the shot and uploading the digits to your computer are just the beginning of making a truly outstanding image.  Check out my Flikr photostream for the original RAW version of this image to compare what is possible.

Also, if you’re in Charleston and you’re interested in the locations of my photos, I have made the Google Maps locations public here on my blog.

Share this post!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Written by Brian Fancher

February 18, 2010 at 9:26 pm

Leave a Reply

