Sojourns

Reflections on a year in 365 photographs

365:THIRTY

with 4 comments

Sunset reflections on a lake.

Echoplex

 

Patience is a virtue.  I visited an extinct volcanic crater with some colleagues today and spent an afternoon shooting hundreds of images.  There were plenty of good photographs among them, but I still felt there were better images out there.  After the sunset proved mostly benign, we headed back toward 29 Palms.  

We had barely gotten down the road when I looked right and saw this image.  I braked hard enough to dump everything off of the seats, but quickly recovered, jumped out, and shot a good string of photos.  I knew they would jump off the screen.  I could have wished for a less regular composition, but there was no time to find a better angle before the fleeting light passed.

Written by Brian Fancher

January 31, 2010 at 1:59 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Beautiful picture! The colors are so nice. I always wish I would just stop the car and snap a photo when I see something, but I never do. This gives me a little inspiration to do so!

    Jasmine

    January 31, 2010 at 2:00 am

  2. Thanks. I’m finding that with this project 365 I have a reason to have a camera with me everywhere I go. And I’m thinking about photography and images all the time. So when I see a scene like this, I have no trouble stopping to capture it. I get excited about seeing the finished images and writing a bit about them.

    Brian Fancher

    January 31, 2010 at 10:43 am

  3. This is a beautiful image, I love the refection in the water.

    Linda Patterson

    January 31, 2010 at 12:39 pm

    • Thank you, Linda. I think the image captures the reflections fairly well. They were sublime in person.

      Brian Fancher

      February 1, 2010 at 1:27 am


Leave a Reply

