Sojourns

Reflections on a year in 365 photographs

365:TWENTY-SIX

leave a comment »

Desert mill HDR photograph

Wind

 

 There is a certain feel to places and things here in the Twentynine Palms, CA area.   The high desert environment imparts a warm, weathered patina to even the most common objects.  I’ve seen this windmill water pump for many years while visiting this area.  The greenish color of the tower against the raw, warm color of the wood just seems to stand out, even in storm-cloud colored weather. 

This is an HDR image in an attempt to add drama in flat light.  I would have had more success with the increased detail of an HDR photograph if I had access to Photoshop.  I’m still learning Lightroom, though, and this is the best I could do with that tool today.   I am much more familiar with my Aperture-to-Photoshop workflow, but I’m finding some aspects of Lightroom clearly superior to Aperture.  

Lesson for the day:  In flat light, HDR can help bring out more drama in an image like this with the increased dynamic range.

Written by Brian Fancher

January 27, 2010 at 12:43 am

Leave a Reply

