Sojourns

Reflections on a year in 365 photographs

PROJECT 365 : TWENTY-THREE

with 2 comments

Project 365 Image Twenty Three

Intensity

Its January and well into the training period for 2010 racing season.  This month has brought weather and motivation challenges that have left me lagging well behind last year’s preparation.  I am finding my strength in teammates and running partners this year.  This is a new approach for me….and a welcome one at that.

This 365 photo project will be a challenge to fit in with training, racing, family, work, and sleep.  I suspect that, as with the guitar, I will find a lot of subject matter in my multisport lifestyle.  Today’s photo is a new social site avatar, among other things.  The composition is well-trodden in those circles, but effective nonetheless.  Most photographers with a modicum of experience can take the same photo.  I like the intensity that comes through in these images.  All of the negative space keeps the eye on the subject while the extreme off-center subject creates tension.

Lesson for the day:  Be mindful of large reflective surfaces as they will show EVERYTHING.  The first frames I took tonight showed the piles of photo equipment and toys in the background.  I ended up stringing the black background sheet across behind and to the side of the camera.

Written by Brian Fancher

January 23, 2010 at 8:13 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I LOVE negative space! Really great use of it here. And from one who is over 7 months into her Proj 365, you will find there are “the days” where you wish you hadn’t committed to such a thing! Hang in there! 🙂

    milkayphoto

    January 25, 2010 at 4:20 pm

  2. Thanks. I’ll keep that in mind! I figure it will be a lot like my running. There are days when I wish I didn’t have to run, even after 25+ years of competitive running. But I know I must if I want to continue to improve. And I definitely want to improve my photography.

    Brian Fancher

    January 26, 2010 at 12:25 am


Leave a Reply

