Sojourns

Reflections on a year in 365 photographs

365:FOURTEEN

leave a comment »

Siding

My grandfather taught me a lot about life.  He taught me about jobs well done.  He showed me the value of a dollar.  He embodied the importance of family.  He passed on his love of jazz.  He taught me about photography.  And he taught me about trains.

As a kid we would visit his house and be entertained with carousel upon carousel of slides full of trains.  My grandfather could rhapsody for hours on tenders, wagons, boxcars, piggy-backs, and hoppers.  He knew the difference between a 4-6-2 Pacific and a 2-6-6-6 Allegheny.  And he had pictures of them by the hundreds.

And when he couldn’t show us a picture, he would build it.  My grandfather was a master model railroad builder.  He even built a train table for us that must have taken years to put together.  We didn’t know how special that was until it wasn’t there anymore.

My grandfather is getting on in his years and doesn’t have much longer with us.  I don’t get home often enough to see him.  I hope he knows how much his life has meant in mine.

This one is for you, Grandpa.

Written by Brian Fancher

January 15, 2010 at 12:53 am

Leave a Reply

