Sojourns

Reflections on a year in 365 photographs

365:THIRTEEN

with 6 comments

Blown Away

This one is for the strobists out there!  More, umm, “vintage” readers out there will well remember the Maxell ad that provided today’s inspiration.  I had a lot of fun with this one, especially after yesterday’s trials.  I tried to ape as many of the original details as possible, but play on strobe light and not sound.  I managed to include just about everything except the spilling drink, which isn’t an option if I want to continue sleeping INDOORS!  If I’d had more time I would have clothes-hangered a tie like the original, but instead I opted for tying one end of a scarf to the door handle behind me.  Plausibility, not exact copy, was my aim for the image.

The photograph and lighting are fairly straight forward.  Camera low and shoved against the opposite wall with a 24mm lens to give as much space as my kit will allow.  I put the 580EX II on the stand to my front and then used the 430EX bounced from the rear with white fill boards to direct plenty of light into the subject.

I count at least three and probably four lights in the original, so I knew I couldn’t get shadowless.  Then it hit me that this is a strobist LIGHT, not invisible sound image.  The hard shadows of the 580EX II from the front are congruent with the concept.  And I knew it had to be black and white with a bit of grain, just as the original.  Add curves, contrast, crop, sharpen, and noise.  Perfect.

Comment and critique welcome….

Written by Brian Fancher

January 14, 2010 at 1:22 am

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The first thing that jumped out at me were the lines of the tripod base and lamp shade. Then, upon widening my focus, the radiating theme from the light bulb with the shadows, etc… was really evident. So cool, enjoyed it a lot.

    Also, the rocks picture from a few days back was great. I am by no means an authority on these matters, or even someone who normally enjoys photography, but this is fun to look at every night. Keep it up!

    David

    January 14, 2010 at 2:05 am

  2. Don’t look now but you’re getting quite creative. I do believe that was part of the goal?

    Chris Barker

    January 14, 2010 at 2:54 am

  3. I love it! great idea!

    nbukrey

    January 21, 2010 at 2:04 am

  4. I like it! Well done!!! =)

    squeekphoto

    January 23, 2010 at 2:23 pm

  5. Really nice. I love it. I actually have the original in poster fom hanging on my wall. A very nice alteration. I really enjoy the lamp shade. It adds a spice that makes it your own.
    -J

    Jaqui

    February 13, 2010 at 8:40 pm


Leave a Reply

