Sojourns

Reflections on a year in 365 photographs

365:TWELVE

with 3 comments

Ahead

 

Sometimes things just don’t work.  I tried.  I learned.  

Lesson for the day:  “No! No different. Only different in your mind. You must unlearn what you have learned. No! Try not. Do. Or do not. There is no try.”  Yoda  

****Updated***  So I did a little research to see where I could have improved this shot.  My first problem was the white balance discord between the strobe and ambient lights.  I had a 1/4 CTO on the strobe, but discovered I had left the camera on Auto White Balance; hence the green bridge and yellowish-orange path lights.  This should have been a 3/4 or full CTO and a custom White Balance of ~3200k.  I had done some test shots without the strobe for ambient levels and found AWB showing ~3500k.  Cool that down just a bit and then warm up the subject and I’d have been a lot closer to the shot I was looking for.   If anyone has any other ideas for color correction of this type of shot, I’d love to hear them.  

The next problem is the soft subject.  This is easily rectified by simply focusing on a stand-in subject in the composition.  Well…either that or use one of David Hobby’s patented Voice Activated Camera Releases (aka an assistant)!  

Last, I need a new subject.  This one seems a bit morose!  😉  

“Always in motion is the future.” Yoda

Written by Brian Fancher

January 13, 2010 at 4:53 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Kudo’s to whoeve4r made this post. Very good stuff, you really know what you’re talking about…signed up for your feed. Thanks

    easy guitar lesson

    January 19, 2010 at 5:33 pm

  2. Thanks for the description of this shot, it’s about time I start trying to match the color balance of strobes and ambient light as well. Reading this post made me go and learn the technique.

    Good luck with the project!

    Janek

    January 22, 2010 at 5:12 am

  3. I’m sad you didn’t think this worked. I don’t know what you were trying for, but I like how it turned out.
    -J

    Jaqui

    February 13, 2010 at 8:41 pm


Leave a Reply

