Sojourns

Reflections on a year in 365 photographs

365:SEVEN

with 3 comments

Serenity

After a busy day all I could think about this evening was “serenity”, so that became the theme I wanted to photograph.  When I think about meditating and calming the chaos inside, I like to pour some tea and sit down to journal.  After a few moments this image came to mind and the shoot became simple.  I shot on white seamless with a single strobe through an umbrella from camera left.  I added white reflectors close in on the subject’s right and from camera front.

Lesson for the day:  The simplest compositions often work best.  I had added a spoon at one point, but the composition became cluttered and distracting; the very antithesis of the mood I was trying to capture.

Comments and critique are always welcome!  How would you capture “serenity”?

Written by Brian Fancher

January 8, 2010 at 12:41 am

Posted in Stock, Strobe

Tagged with , , , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great photo, I really enjoy the fact that you share your lighting set up details with us. Hmm how would I capture “serenity” I may just have to use that image for one of my photo a day challenges.

    Thanks again for the inspiration,

    Linda Patterson

    January 8, 2010 at 1:16 am

  2. I’ll have to think about the serenity thing, too.

    Lovely dof on this one, too.

    Meg

    January 8, 2010 at 1:15 pm

    • Soft snow falling in a coniferous forest. A tropical lagoon beach under blue skies. A quiet window seat, a blanket, and a cup of coffee. A winding mountain road with expansive views…..the possibilities are endless. Today was the first chance of snow in Charleston, SC in years and we managed rain, so the first one is not likely for me on this project!

      Brian Fancher

      January 8, 2010 at 4:27 pm


Leave a Reply

