Sojourns

Reflections on a year in 365 photographs

365:One

with 5 comments

Hello

I had not planned to do an environmental self portrait for the first image in this 365 photograph project, but that is the way the day worked out.  Plus it makes for a good sidebar avatar.  So welcome to my daily photo project for 2010!  I see this project as an effort to progress my photographic skills over the next year.  I hope to gain insight into location shooting, photographic discipline, image workflows, personal interaction, equipment skills, and artistic vision.  I also hope to develop a dialogue with other photographers to exchange ideas and insight.  And somewhere along the way I hope to connect with people who enjoy good photographs.

Having read and clicked through a plethora of other 365 projects, I think that I understand some of the challenges ahead.  First and foremost, I can see that completion of 365 consecutive photographs is a challenge in itself.  The demand of finding inspiration, time, and motivation to complete the daily work has left a gazillion “hanging chad” photo projects across the web.  You could say that simply completing 365 images is my primary goal.

So the first challenge on the first day became getting out the door with camera in hand.  I also needed to feed my first addiction love, running.  I had been wanting to work on some environmental shots at the track in preparation for doing some work for my sons’ track team in the spring.  It seemed like a perfect opportunity to multitask!

Lesson for the day:  Umbrellas require significant anchors for the stand when used outside in even the slightest of winds!  I had planned to use a shoot through umbrella to soften the light, but the slight breeze kept blowing it over even with the camera bag providing stability.  I ended up having to do bare flash from camera left.

Written by Brian Fancher

January 2, 2010 at 12:44 am

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Brian,
    I am interested in following your 365 (364 now) pictures. I love pictures but have never persued the study of it. Who took the pic?
    Brad

    Brad

    January 2, 2010 at 1:54 am

  2. I am the photographer for all photographs in this project…and the subject in this photo, of course. I may have assistants at times, and of course I will use other people as subjects. But the primary focus of this project is to work on my own photographic skills. I’ll try to share what I learn along the way.

    Brian Fancher

    January 2, 2010 at 2:38 am

  3. Feet at a 45 degree angle and all! Some muscle memory never leaves.

    Chris Barker

    January 8, 2010 at 4:13 am

    • Absolutely. The memory of yellow footprints stays with us for life. Semper Fidelis.

      Brian Fancher

      January 8, 2010 at 4:22 pm

  4. Hi Brian! Thanks for stopping by my Proj 365 – with the winter weather it is certainly proving challenging for me! I wish you the best of luck with your project. You are off to an amazing start as your talents are self-evident. I will be following your journey! Take care – Tracy

    milkayphoto

    January 22, 2010 at 5:09 pm


Leave a Reply

