Sojourns

Reflections on a year in 365 photographs

365:NINETEEN

with 2 comments

Ravenel

Lesson for the day:  Know your equipment.  Read the manual.  A lot!  I had planned this for an HDR image.  I took plenty of exposures thinking I had auto-bracketing on, with the base exposure at  -1 EV.  I was also using the 2-second timer and mirror lock-up.  Somehow that combination did not add up into bracketed exposures and I ended up with groups of three of the same image.

In my favor was that I’d set the base exposure for -1 EV so that the bridge was not blown out completely and could be salvaged in post.

Still, the HDR will be far more dramatic.  I think I’ll try this same shot next week with proper exposure bracketing.

Written by Brian Fancher

January 20, 2010 at 4:19 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like this photo, and I can see your vision.. with a proper exposure set this would make a wonderful HDR shot at sunset! +1 on knowing your cam too, I’ve been bitten but the bug too, it sucks when you head back to your pc and open up all your photos only to find them all wacked!

    nbukrey

    January 21, 2010 at 1:59 am

    • Thanks. I can’t wait to go at it again next week. After today’s HDR success, I’m looking forward to seeing how this scene turns out. Now if I can just get the weather to cooperate!

      Brian Fancher

      January 21, 2010 at 3:43 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

